Living Options Key

Continuum of Care:

Refers to a community that offers more than one level of care option.  The different levels are offered within their campus or organization and can either be located within the same building or in separate locations.

The three levels of care include:

  1. Independent Living (IL)
  • Independent Living Retirement Villas & Communities
  1. Assisted Living(AL)
  • Assisted Living Communities
  • Assisted Living Communities Specializing in Alzheimer’s/Dementia
  • Assisted Living Residential Care Homes Specializing in Alzheimer’s/Dementia
  1. Skilled Nursing and Rehabilitation Center (SNF)
  • Skilled Nursing and Rehabilitation Center

Alzheimer’s/Dementia Unit:

  • Refers to a Skilled Nursing and Rehabilitation Center that has a Locked Alzheimer’s/Dementia unit.

Payment options for Senior Living Communities:

  • Private Pay
  • Long-Term Care Insurance
  • Medicaid
  • Medicaid Waiver
  • Veterans Assistance